Posted on

February 28, 2012 (46)

From Laura
I’ve learned nothing is ever as it should be in India.  Time is of no concern.  If they tell you a time to be somewhere, tack on an hour or two.  No need to rush.

At the Graduation

Preparing for Graduation Services

From Michael
Today has been restful. We had to stay in due to a day long strike across the nation. The strike is to rebel against the rapid inflation. Some things are inexpensive while other things are expensive. Gas is around $6 per gallon. However they do not have a dependence on it like we do. This evening we are attending the minister’s graduation. Other things I don’t want to forget is the daily loud speaker Muslim prayers. This morning I put my jacket on. I guess my body is beginning to adjust to the high heat.

From Tim
A labor union called a nationwide strike for India.  We heard a lot of speakers the night before on the square.  6:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.  It is a lot like the Occupy Wall Street movement, the mom and pop stores close the day and lose their $4-6 income and the government continues on.  The protest was to lower gas prices and food prices, but the real wastes aren’t addressed – subsidies for the landlords, subsidies for kerosene, which is hardly used.  Sewing and preacher graduation tonight.  I made it halfway through, went to check on Mary (down) and I went down.  Met Rajesh on the way in.  He told me Mary Beth would be fine.  He would bring back medicine.  No show.  Ordered in the morning.

From Kathy
Today was mostly a mellow day.  One major thing that was done was match up the children’s names with the pictures Mike had taken.  Rose and Richie went through the pictures and gave us the names. Then Rani (and girls) gave us names also.  Mike doesn’t think they all match but pretty close.  Oh, well, that’s more than we had before.  We gave Rose her envelope with a little money and a note.  It was humbling to see how thrilled and grateful she was.  She cried, we hugged.  I think she really loves the interaction amongst all the ladies.  I think she is a bit lonely.  All of her family is 3 days of train riding and one day of bus riding north of here.  We also gave envelopes to Rani for Susan and herself. Around 5:30 p.m. we went over to the church for the graduation/ordination services for the new ministers and graduation for the ladies tailoring class.  Lots of singing.  Mike, Bob Sheffler, and Charles all spoke to the preachers.  Krystal said a prayer for the sewing ladies.  All in all the service lasted about 3 hours, but it was a momentous occasion.  All the preachers wore robes, hats and ribbons (around neck).  They looked very scholarly!  The ladies [from the tailoring school] all
wore clothing they had made.  They looked so lovely.  We ate super around 9:30 p.m.  Then it was time to just sit and talk and read.  It’s been pretty hot today.  Tomorrow’s the beginning of “going home” day.

Strike in India today.

From Krystal
We did not get to do much today. There is a nation-wide strike and the possibilities of rioting in the streets between political parties. For safety, we all hung around the colony most of the day and prepared for the graduation services tonight. Again, I am to make an address and I have no idea what to say.  This evening we graduated 11 preachers and about 40 women from the sewing school. I was up on stage with TB, Rani, Charles, and Mike – all of us in caps and gowns. Mike addressed the preachers and then gave out their diplomas; I addressed the sewing school graduates and gave out their diplomas. My address was summed up by a prayer from Pascal:  “Lord, help me to do great things as though they were little, since I do them with your power; and little things as though they were great, since I do them in your name.”  This was my prayer for this trip; that I remember I do all things through Christ and for Christ. Tonight is the last full night in Machilipatnam; tomorrow we begin our journey home. How could it have ended so soon? 

From MT
Well today there was a national strike, all over India, so everything shut down, everything.  We were to get landscaping stuff to finish at the hospital and were not able to do so.  We were not allowed to leave the compound due to the strike so we had a very simple day.  Breakfast, lunch.  Pastor school graduation (3 hours), then dinner.   For the first time today able to get to a working computer with internet.  FB messaged briefly.  Able to check e-mail.  Got to play with the baby a bunch, and hung out with Rose who I love immensely.  Rakesh’s wife is Rose.  My heart connects so with Rakesh and Rose.  Such gentle, humble souls.  Tonight all just hanging in the room.  Almost felt a bit nauseous again – but am doing some better.  Well this is our last night.  It will be extremely hard to leave.  But I am so looking forward to seeing my babies.  Talking is good, but I miss them so, so much.  I hope I can honestly say after this, Lord, my family is my life.  I hope truly Lord you are first.  My family is my heart.  This trip has reminded me more than ever how important they are to me.  Curious to see how some relationships will be when I get home.  All is well – heading to bed in a bit.

About Charles Grubbs

International Director, North Andhra Coastal Evangelizing Association

Leave a comment